Serious lack of South America…

It’s been too long since I’ve gone wild in the kitchen. I’ve been in London, starting a very important work placement at a big magazine. It’s an exciting time, but I can’t help feeling slightly resentful of the lack of South American food in my life! I haven’t been able to experiment with recipes for some time, and it’s not good for my soul.

So, in the meantime, I did a little research on Peruvian restaurants around London. Very disappointing search results. Only one Peruvian restaurant came up on my search – ‘Tito’s’ in London Bridge. The rest were a mixture of Latin cuisine, but leaning towards the European end of the spectrum.

Hey, don’t get me wrong, I love Spanish food, and live for Italian, but I want some hard core Peruvian/Bolivian/Brazilian restaurants!

It’s a huge shame there aren’t more of these gems around. Peruvian food in particular, is growing ever more popular in the US. Ceviche is becoming as common a delicacy as sushi, and with a large hispanic population, hispanic food markets and ingredients are readily available. I watched a documentary on a Peruvian TV station, on how Peruvian food was taking the US market by storm.

With good reason too. Peruvians are very creative with their blend of herbs and spices, to vamp up a basic chicken curry dish, or a prawn soup. Potatoes make up the basis of most of Peruvian dishes, and can appear so simple, but tasty. For example, you can’t go wrong with Causa Rellena – a dish of layered ingredients and seasoned creamy mashed potatoes, filled with avocado, vegetables, chicken or tuna and topped with olives or a boiled egg. A strange concoction, but delicious. Fish and seafood is a big part of Peruvian food, and deserves much more praise!

During my research, I was particularly pleased to find this article, foreseeing a wave of Latin American restaurants opening up in London this coming year!

http://www.bighospitality.co.uk/Trends-Reports/Latin-American-restaurants-to-take-London-by-storm

If it’s just a matter of time before we can all get our South American food fix in London, then I guess I can wait. 2012 is going to be the year of the South American Restaurant boom in London…and I’ll be right in the middle of it!

For now, I shall just have to book a table at ‘Tito’s’…

One response to “Serious lack of South America…

Leave a Reply

