Holy Guacamole

Avocados are probably one of my favourite fruits (yes, it’s a fruit). I just can’t get enough of the creamy delicate texture, in a sandwich or salad. When I discovered that Peru was the native home of avocados, I just knew that we were going to get along swell. You get them with loads of Peruvian dishes, so it was fair to say I was in food heaven quite a bit, I even tried an avocado smoothie (not quite so great).

In fact, I have to confess that one of the highlights of my unforgettable Inca Trail, was the opportunity to have fresh avocados, picked straight from the jungle trees. Sure, Machu Picchu was awesome and the experience of trekking along an ancient jungle trail was amazing, but the avocados…well they just blew me away. I’m not ashamed of it, as I’ve said before, food for me, is often the best part of travel!

At one of the stops along the Inca Trail, our tour group were treated to huge bowls of freshly made guacamole, with crusty bread. It was quite honestly, the best guacamole that I have ever tasted. Chunky soft pieces of avocado with chopped red onion and pepper with a hint of lime and lots of black pepper. Not at all spicy, just simple and refreshing.

Shop bought guacamole always seems a little sharp to me; either too acidic or with too much chilli. In restaurants, freshly made guacamole are always in small portions, and usually expensive. This may be because of the lower quality of avocados in this country; usually rock hard in the stores, and stringy or bruised once ripened. It’s a crying shame in my opinion. So I decided I would make my very own guacamole.

As always, I looked up some recipes online, but then chose to make my own. After all, only I knew what I was looking for! Chunky, fresh and creamy guacamole. And after waiting about ten days for my avocados to be ripe enough, I gave this recipe a go…

Stepho’s Holy Guacamole

  • 3 large very ripe avocados (recommend organic ones here)
  • 1 medium red onion, finely chopped
  • 1 ripe tomato, finely chopped
  • 1/2 lime
  • 1/2 tsp of chopped red chilli (I used ‘Very Lazy’ Chillies)
  • Couple of pinches of fresh, chopped coriander
  • Sea salt and black pepper
  • Splash of water if needed

Cut your avocados in half, and take out the stone. With any luck this will be easy, as your avocados should be super ripened! Scoop out the soft green flesh with a spoon, and mash it up with a pestle and mortar. Leave some little chunks in, depending on how you like it, then put it in a large bowl. Mix the finely chopped tomato, red onion and chilli together with the coriander and mix in with the avocado. Squeeze the juice of half a lime in and mix all together. If it needs a little splash of water, for a softer texture, then add that. Season well with black pepper and sea salt, and there you have it!

Serve with tortilla chips, or as a side to fajitas or chilli. Though, I warn you, it’ll taste good enough to eat on its own!

It’s not a patch on the jungle guacamole from Peru, but Holy Guacamole, it sure beats anything in the UK!

Leave a Reply

