The Real Tres Leches

As you may remember, I recently posted about my “unconventional” first attempt at a Tres Leches Cake. I vowed at the end of that post, that I would rise above my failures, and review my recipe.

Well, I am very pleased to inform you all, that I SUCCEEDED. I researched the tres leches cake once again, and was eventually confident that I had a fool proof recipe (in British measurements!). So, without further ado, Ladies and Gentlemen, I present to you…

The Real Tres Leches Cake

For the cake mixture:

  • 6 oz unsalted butter
  • 8 ½ oz of plain flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • ½ tsp salt
  • 7 oz caster sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 small teacup of whole milk

For the soaking liquid:

  • 12 oz evaporated milk
  • 14 oz condensed milk
  • Splash of whole milk

For the frosting:

  • 12 oz of double cream
  • 3 tbsp sifted icing sugar
  • Sprinkle of cinnamon for finishing

Preheat the oven to 180*C and grease up a deep circular baking tin.

Whisk the flour, baking powder and salt together. Beat the butter with the sugar until it is light and fluffy. Then beat in the eggs, making sure the mixture is well combined. Then add the vanilla. Start to fold in the flour mixture gradually and then stir in the milk, slowly and folding in each time. The mixture is now complete, so pour it into the prepared pan and bake for 35 minutes, until a toothpick can be inserted in the centre and comes out clean and the cake is well risen. Allow the cake to cool on a wire rack for 20 minutes.

The soaking liquid is made easily by mixing all ingredients together.

Once the cake is cooled, place it on a deep rimmed plate. Use a fork to puncture the cake all over carefully. Slowly pour the soaking liquid over top, using a spoon, allowing time for the liquid to soak in before pouring on more. You may find that the mixture runs right off the cake, in which case, put more holes in the cake. Once the cake refuses to take any more liquid, let it stand at room temperature for 30 minutes. Cover the top with plastic cling film and then refrigerate for a few hours.

 
For the frosting, beat the well chilled cream with until it starts to thicken. Gradually sift in the icing sugar and continue to whisk until the cream is soft but holds its shape. Using a spatula, coat the cake with the cream until covered, and then a dusting of cinnamon for a bit of extra flavour!I used cinnamon for a more wintery feel, but in the summer, top the cake with a few strawberries.

The cake turned out so moist and creamy. It was very moreish, so it was devoured in no time. It’s definitely not the worlds most healthy cake, but it’s a real treat!

I’m very pleased with my second attempt at tres leches. It was pretty close to the one I fell for in Peru, so I’m pretty happy.

I don’t want to be clichéd, but let it be a lesson to all aspiring cooks: if at first you don’t succeed, try try again!

Leave a Reply

