Recipe: Summer Quinoa

My friend recently sent me a clip of Graham Norton quizzing Gwyneth Paltrow on her “Leftover Quinoa” recipe, calling it “a cross between couscous and cat litter”. Whilst it was marginally amusing to watch Graham mock Gwyneth’s super healthy cookery, I just wanted to ask him: where the hell have you been getting your quinoa, Graham?

I have been all over the quinoa recently, making batches of the good stuff for my lunches at work. I had the same thing for three days in a row and wasn’t even bored – that’s how good it was!

So for all you quinoa sceptics out there, stick this in your tupperware and eat it:

Summer Quinoa with Beetroot, Avocado and Goat’s cheese

20130415_183544

  • 500ml vegetable stock
  • 250g quinoa, rinsed
  • 1 ripe avocado
  • 2 cooked beetroot
  • Plum tomatoes
  • 50g soft goat’s cheese
  • Dried coriander
  • Salt and pepper

Bring the vegetable stock to the boil and cook the quinoa for around 15 mins until a soft texture. Leave the quinoa to cool and add the coriander, chopped avocado, beetroot, tomatoes and goats cheese. Season to taste and serve with salad.

If you’re making a batch it to last a few days, I would suggest adding the avocado and goat’s cheese separately each day to keep it fresh.

 

Leave a comment